The Night Olivia Fell

The Night Olivia Fell

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant. A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies. In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists. When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister? Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?
Publisher: [S.l.]: Gallery Books, 2019.
ISBN: 9781501184017
Characteristics: 368 p.
Additional Contributors: cloudLibrary

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
sapl3 Apr 09, 2020

JOANNE'S MYSTERY PICKS

It’s every parent’s nightmare – that call in the middle of the night to say that your child has been in an accident. Abi answers the phone one night to be told that very thing about her seventeen-year old daughter, Olivia. Only it’s far worse: Olivia is brain-dead and on life support in order to keep her unborn baby alive, a baby that Abi knew nothing about. I was hooked at this point, but slowly I started to look at this novel more carefully.

The author utilizes “weather” in almost every chapter – but it goes nowhere to creating atmosphere. They are just words on the page. I found myself saying “fast forward” after the fifth or sixth passage talking about rain, sunshine, fog, or wind and it got very tiresome. And I just couldn’t believe these characters, expecially Abi, the martyred single-mom who could be called a “helicopter parent” except for the fact that she didn’t actually hover over her daughter, but had her locked in the helicopter with her! There just wasn’t anything genuine about any of the players in this story or the fact that an investigation into Olivia’s fall was deemed as unnecessary.

So, definitely not the top pick of the bookshelf for me, but some might enjoy it.

Joanne gives The Night Olivia Fell 2 daggers out of 5!

0
0007548100dmw
Mar 08, 2020

A well written, thriller. I couldn't put it down. Would recommend.
However, a previous reader (Tamor0127) took 1 reference to a book written by Pres. Obama and went on a disgusting, myopic thin skinned political rant against our former first lady that borders on racism. What "turns my stomach" is the use of a public book review to broadcast ultra right political views. Absolutely no one cares about the political views of another. I sincerely hope this reader keeps politcal views to him or herself in future book reviews. There are enough political problems in our country right now without having to read about them in a book review!

t
Tamar0127
Oct 04, 2019

While I am not a big fan of thrillers, even though I do seem to read quite a few owing to their current popularity, this book was solid for the main point that I couldn't guess who the killer was until I was almost finished. I kept thinking it was him, it was her, no, it must be this character so that was a nice change. Usually I figure out the rest of the story and whodunit pretty quickly and consequently lose interest. I truthfully would probably have DNFd this one if that had been the case early on or even halfway through.
The writing itself was good, not great, this isn't literature, after all. Some of the dialogue seemed clumsy and stilted, prosaic, mainly between Olivia and other younger characters. Her private thoughts were much better worded, in my opinion.
My biggest gripe were the political references that I believe occurred twice and were both pro-Democrat. Being a staunch Republican myself, the fact of these references being pro-Dem wasn't the issue. I wouldn't have wanted any pro-Republican references, either, although Michelle Obama in particular turns my stomach more than most. When I read fiction, I want to escape into the world of the book and not be reminded of the existence of reality, particularly in such a negatively charged and politically heated reality as we are living in and hear about every single day. Total turn off. I would have given this book a 3.5 star rating if not for this political element.

k
KatG1983
Oct 03, 2019

The Night Olivia Fell is a pretty standard , run of the mill thriller. It doesn't particularly stand out, to me, from any of the other extremely similar titles ... I'm not sure I'll remember much about it in a week or two.

k
khjartarson
May 14, 2019

Gripping drama/mystery that is difficult to put down.

a
aliciamarie
Mar 26, 2019

I added this to my TBR list mainly because I was first drawn to the cover. It's gorgeous! I also loved the description- it seemed like a thriller/mystery mixed with parental love and hidden secrets, and I cannot resist that kind of emotional and mysterious read!

This book is told in alternating perspectives between Olivia and her mother, Abi. It is also told in alternating timelines, obviously, because Olivia is currently in a coma. As the story of the past unfolds we learn about Olivia's world and what happened in her life leading up to the fall. How her old friends and new friends all become suspects in her "accident" and how the secrets her mother kept from her may be the reason she is now laying in a hospital room brain dead and pregnant.

As Abi investigates her daughter's life she realizes, despite being a helicopter and overbearing parent, she really didn't know her daughter at all. She begins to realize her obsession with keeping her daughter safe and her refusal to tell Olivia about her own past, may be the cause of Olivia's sneaking around, getting pregnant, and ultimately her future inevitable death.

This was a great read. Every character was well developed and it was easy to follow the well written plot by author Christina McDonald. By the last page, I found myself satisfied with how it ended- plausible, believable, and not over the top.

This was my first read from the author, but I look forward to reading more from her!

Thanks to Netgalley, Gallery, Threshold, Pocket books and author Christina McDonald for allowing me an egalley to read and give my honest review.

Happy Reading!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top