Strangers at the Gate

Strangers at the Gate

Book - 2019 | First U.S. edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1

" Strangers at the Gate is one of her best." - New York Times bestselling author Ann Cleeves

From Catriona McPherson, Agatha Award-winning author of Quiet Neighbors, comes Strangers at the Gate : a twisty, fascinating mystery that asks the question: who do you turn to when everyone's a stranger and you've stopped believing your own eyes?

Finnie Doyle and Paddy Lamb are leaving city life in Edinburgh behind them and moving to the little town of Simmerton. Paddy's been made partner at the law firm in town, and Finnie has snagged a job as a church deacon. Their rented cottage is quaint; their new colleagues are charming, and they can't believe their luck.

But only days after moving into the gate house, Finnie begins to have doubts. She keeps hearing strange sounds, and the thicket of trees make her feel claustrophobic rather than safe. When they witness the bloody aftermath of a brutal murder, it changes everything. They've each been keeping secrets about their pasts. And they both know their precious new start won't survive a scandal. Together, for the best of reasons, they make the worst decision of their lives.

And that's only the beginning. The deep, deep valley where Simmerton sits is unlike anywhere Finnie and Paddy have been before. They are not the only ones hiding in its shadow and very soon they've lost control of the game they decided to play...

Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2019.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
ISBN: 9781250070012
1250070015
Branch Call Number: FIC MCPHE
Characteristics: 355 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
SkokieStaff_Steven Apr 30, 2020

More than twenty books into her career, Catriona McPherson is still awaiting her big breakthrough. She regularly receives excellent reviews and has won the prestigious Agatha Award twice but has yet to expand beyond her circle of fans to the general reader. Best known as a mystery writer with her Dandy Gilver series, she also writes standalone suspense novels including her most recent “Strangers at the Gate.” McPherson excels at putting sympathetic female characters into sinister isolated settings where they find themselves caught up in layers of secrets and lies. In this novel, plucky Finnie Doyle finds herself with a new job and new home in the gate house of a wooded Scottish estate that has seen much better days. It all seems too good to be true, and Finnie’s apprehensions are quickly confirmed by a bizarre double death. McPherson’s Gothic-influenced thrillers are an excellent choice for fans of Ruth Ware and Elly Griffiths’ “The Stranger Diaries.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top