The Girl They Left Behind

The Girl They Left Behind

Large Print - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
A sweeping historical romance that is "gripping, tragic, yet filled with passion and hope" (Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author), offering a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest during World War II and its aftermath--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key .

On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger so the girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind.

As a young woman in Soviet Romania, Natalia crosses paths with Victor--an important official in the Communist regime that she used to know as an impoverished young student. Now they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets.

When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.

The Girl They Left Behind "is a vividly told, beautifully written, impossible-but-true story" (Helen Bryan, internationally bestselling author of War Brides ) that you won't soon forget.

Publisher: Farmington Hills, Michigan : Gale, 2019.
Edition: Large print edition.
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9781432861964
1432861964
Branch Call Number: LP FIC VELET
Characteristics: 519 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
e
Eil_1
May 30, 2019

A rather weak history of Romania during WWII. Although it is inspired by true events, it lacks a strong link to the people who lived through this war. I would have preferred to read about the actual occurrences that befell the Romanians rather than read about the romantic illusions of the young protagonist.

n
nanaDx4
May 09, 2019

Enjoyed the book very much. Interesting to read about Romania during WW2 and following.

n
nancyau12
Mar 29, 2019

Very good. Romania during WWII and afterwards under communist rule.

b
becker
Mar 25, 2019

This is a perfect book for those that love historical family sagas with a lot of heart. The story is told from a lesser known perspective which is fresh and very interesting and it is a very enjoyable read.

SherryH1 Mar 04, 2019

A story of resilience and so much more. Definitely a worthwhile read.

r
r0cdjmg
Jan 31, 2019

One of the best books I have ever read.

DCLadults Nov 02, 2018

A New & Noteworthy pick. The setting of Romania as the Iron Curtain falls provides a different view of World War II. Based on a true story that becomes great historical fiction.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top