The Forsyte Saga

The Forsyte Saga

eBook - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Annotation John Galsworthy's The Forsyte Saga collects together three novels and two interludes, all published between 1906 and 1921. Not far removed from their farming history, the members of an upper-middle-class British family are painfully aware of being "new money". As a "man of property", Soames Forsyte's abilities bring him material wealth, but they grant him no quarter in the happiness stakes.
Publisher: [Auckland, N.Z.] : Floating Press, ©2009.
ISBN: 9781775416449
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 electronic document (1746 pages))


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Apr 08, 2017

A sweeping book by playwright and author John Galsworthy, about the changing fortunes of an English upper middle-class family, circa 1886-1920. The "saga," first printed in 1922, consists of three previously published novels plus two linking short stories - the latter of which each focuses on a single character in the story. Of note is how the opening of the franchise to universal male suffrage brought upon major political changes, including the introduction of an income tax that affected greatly the middle and upper classes, as well as the 1909-11 showdown between the House of Lords and House of Commons, and how these changes affected the behaviour and fortunes of the characters. The main focus, though, is on the central player, Soames Forsyte, and his inability to win the affection of his wife, Irene - as well as the conflict between arts and beauty on the one hand, and love (especially the unrequited kind) on the other.

If one thinks of the multiple plot strains of the average soap opera, they are multiplied by a factor of several in what happens in this book. Definitely not a one sitting book, but this follows in the tradition of writers like Cervantes and Tolstoy, and it proved to be Galsworthy's magnus opus - indeed the work that won him the Nobel Literature Prize, that he was never able to collect due to illness.

(The Oxford World's Classics edition includes an editor's introduction plus copious notes dealing with references to art, pop and political culture of the time the book was set, translations of French phrases which frequently populate the story, as well as numerous dictionary definitions for words which were in common use at the time of original publication but are quite obscure today.)

Jun 29, 2013

Wonderful series of 3 books and 2 interludes that chronicles 3 generations of the Forsyte family, especially contrasting those who love property with those who love beauty.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at APL

To Top