The Fifth Letter

The Fifth Letter

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

Nicola Moriarty makes her US debut with this stunning page-turner for fans of Jojo Moyes, Emily Griffin, Kate Morton, and Jessica Knoll, about four best friends on a relaxing vacation that turns devastating when old secrets are revealed, long-held grudges surface, shocking lies are exposed, and a shattering betrayal is discovered--an anonymous hate-filled letter that one of them writes--shaking the foundation of their lives.

Best friends from high school, Joni, Deb, Eden, and Trina had always looked forward to the vacations they spent together. But the demands of careers, husbands, and babies gradually pulled them apart, and now their annual getaways may be a thing of the past. Joni doesn't want to lose her friends, and this year she's coaxed them all back together for some fun at a beach house.

Late on a laughter and wine-filled night, the women dare one another to write anonymous letters, spilling her most intimate thoughts like they did as teenagers. But the fun game meant to bring them closer together turns painfully serious, exposing cracks in their lives and their relationships. Each letter is a confession revealing disturbing information. A rocky marriage. A harrowing addiction. A hidden pregnancy. A heartbreaking diagnosis.

Days later, Joni notices something in the fireplace--a crumpled and partially burned fifth letter that holds the most shattering admission of all.

Best friends are supposed to keep your darkest secrets. But the revelations Joni, Deb, Eden and Trina have shared will have unforeseen consequences . . . and none of them will ever be the same.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062413567
0062413562
Branch Call Number: FIC MORIA
Characteristics: 278 pages
Alternative Title: 5th letter

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
natalie91
Jul 01, 2017

Was a good book with a great plot but was somewhat spoilt by crass profanity and the author did also make an inconsistent error. She claimed Eden's house was a "single-storey red-brick home" on page 222 and then on page 299 Eden's husband Ben was bringing her back "downstairs" after her shower. If you are going to be a successful writer you need to keep your story consistent and factual.
It may be an innocuous mistake but an author can often lose credibility if they can't even keep something as basic as a house the right storey!

n
nf2469
Apr 15, 2017

An interesting story-line, but too much drama and foul language.

multcolib_karene Feb 11, 2017

Really light, easy read. If you're looking for a summer beach book...

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top