Cakewalk

Cakewalk

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Continuing in the exuberant tradition of Six of One, Bingo, and Loose Lips, New York Times bestselling author Rita Mae Brown returns to her much-loved fictional hamlet of Runnymede, whose memorable citizens are welcoming both the end of the Great War and the beginning of a new era. The night a riot breaks out at the Capitol Theater movie house'during a Mary Pickford picture, no less'you can bet that the Hunsenmeir sisters, Louise and Julia, are nearby. Known locally as Wheezie and Juts, the inimitable, irrepressible, distinctly freethinking sisters and their delightful circle of friends are coming of age in a shifting world'and are determined to understand their place in it. Across town, the well-to-do Chalfonte siblings are preparing for the upcoming wedding of brother Curtis. But for youngest sister Celeste, the celebration brings about a change she never expected and a lesson about love she'll not soon forget. Set against the backdrop of America emerging from World War I, Cakewalk is an outrageous and affecting novel about a small town where ideas of sin and virtue, love and sex, men and women, politics and religion, can be as divided as the Mason-Dixon Line that runs right through it'and where there's no problem that can't be cured by a good yarn and an even better scotch. With her signature Southern voice, Rita Mae Brown deftly weaves generations of family stories into a spirited patchwork quilt of not-so-simple but joyously rich life. Praise for Cakewalk "[Cakewalk] is brimming over with [Rita Mae Brown's] distinctive Southern voice that infuses every page with merriment, which allows her vibrant characters to take over the story and touch readers' hearts. Her depictions of the inhabitants and the era are pitch-perfect as are the many subplots. Readers will feel as if they are living in Runnymede; running around with the teenagers, eavesdropping on the matrons planning the annual cakewalk and hiding in the closet of the wealthy families. An utterly delightful story."'RT Book Reviews "Brown has said that the Runnymede novels, starting with Six of One, are the ones she was born to write...' This is more loving domestic comedy of small-town life when times were simpler. Recommended for fans of Brown and beyond."'Library Journal "Two independent and free-thinking sisters, Louise and Julia Hunsenmeir (called Wheezie and Juts), push against the old-fashioned ways of drinking, dancing, and courting...' Characters were inspired by Brown's own mother and sister, adding realism and depth to this uplifting story. Fans of Amy Hill Heath and Mary Kay Andrews will eat up this multigenerational 'slice-of-life' novel."'Booklist "There seems to be no end to [Rita Mae Brown's] imagination, inventiveness, or storytelling artistry...' What is [Cakewalk] about' Life, love, baseball, war, peace, good whiskey, fashion, sex, religion, friendship-all in a rollicking and lively story that just keeps rolling along at a brisk pace. Ms. Brown paints such vivid scenes...' [Cakewalk is] entertaining, outrageous, thought-provoking, nostalgic, and great fun."'My Merri Way From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 2016.
ISBN: 9780553392661
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: Recorded Books, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Katherine_A Nov 30, 2017

This is the first book I have read by this author. What a fun story. I loved the characters and found myself laughing out loud at Juts and her friends daring antics. I look forward to reading the other books in this series.

coroboreefarm Feb 28, 2017

Known primarily as the creator of cosy mysteries set in the undulating , rural Virginia landscape, and featuring a variety of anthropomorphic creatures including horses, cats, dogs and foxes, the prolific writer Rita Mae Brown is also the creator of another lively series chronicling life in the small southern town of Runnymede. The Runnymede series features a variety of outrageous characters who exhibit views of life, love politics and religion that can be as divided as the town is by the Mason-Dixon Line that runs right through it. Cakewalk is the latest in the Runnymede series.

Cakewalk is set in the simple, hopeful era at the end of World War I moving into the Roaring Twenties. Primarily focusing on the remarkable Hunsenmeir sisters, Louise and Juts, the book also features a perfectly drawn ensemble cast of towns people whose exploits add to the general hilarity. ALthough generally uplifting, the book also makes reference to more serious issues of the time, including Prohibition and Woman's Sufferage.

As always, Rita Mae Brown injects her own social commentary into her writing. This time she focuses on issues of female sexuality and societal expectations surrounding it.

Warm and funny, this will appeal to readers of Fannie Flagg. Although Cakewalk is part of a series, it reads perfectly as a stand alone novel.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top