White Lead

White Lead

A Novel of Suspense

eBook - 2016
Rate this:
Falsely accused of a bizarre murder--and a daring heist--art conservator Stella Da Silvera uncovers a secret history of deception in this stylish thriller for readers of The Art Forger and The Last Painting of Sara de Vos .

Late one night, while restoring a seventeenth-century painting by Diego Vel#65533;zquez, Stella Da Silvera hears screams from the office of Claiborne's curator Jack Ashby. She goes to investigate, but when the noise fades away she heads back to her studio--where she finds a dead body dressed like a figure in the painting and a man with a tattooed face who isn't happy to have company. After eluding the unsavory character, Stella returns with the police, only to find the corpse--and the Vel#65533;zquez--gone.
 


With no murder in evidence, the detectives turn their attention to the missing canvas. They figure Stella had access and opportunity, making her a prime suspect. Adding insult to injury, Claiborne's cans her for negligence. To save her reputation, Stella has no choice but to find the painting. But she's not the only one looking, and someone else is looking for her .

Advance praise for White Lead

"A novelist who manages to surprise on nearly every page." --Matt Bell, author of Scrapper

"Susan Daitch at her finest! Fascinating story, captivating writing." --Deb Olin Unferth, author of Revolution: The Year I Fell In Love and Went to Join the War and Vacation

Praise for Susan Daitch

"It's always a delight to discover a voice as original as Susan Daitch's." --Salman Rushdie

"One of the most intelligent and attentive writers at work in the U.S." --David Foster Wallace
Publisher: New York : Random House Publishing Group, 2016.
ISBN: 9780399593734
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top