Woman in the Shadows

Woman in the Shadows

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction."--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series "An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you're there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!"--Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries Find your next book club pick, read special features, and more. Join the Random House Reader's Circle"-- Provided by publisher.
"1937. A sinister evil lurks behind the glamour and ambition of Berlin's dazzling social scene. When a young woman is murdered in the gardens of the Nazi bride school she attends, Clara begins to investigate her disturbing death"-- Provided by publisher.
"Perfect for fans of Alan Furst, Kristin Hannah, and Jacqueline Winspear, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence--and discovering a deadly secret. Berlin, 1937. Clara Vine's star is on the rise. The British-born, half-German actress is about to take her first leading role in a movie produced by the Nazis' official film studio. Even as she moves through the upper echelons of the Third Reich, Clara never stops acting. At cocktail parties hosted by Joseph and Magda Goebbels, she collects key information for Britain, risking her life for the cause. But soon it is another young woman's life, and its abrupt end, that draws her attention. Clara knew Anna Hansen as a dancer and artist's model in the heady days of the cabaret scene. But Anna left that all behind when she became engaged to an SS officer. Attending one of Hitler's notorious Bride Schools, she was being groomed as the perfect Nazi wife. When she is found murdered on the school grounds, her death is hushed up, one casualty among many in the lead-up to war. But Clara cannot fathom why Anna's death would be concealed. Was it simply an embarrassment to the regime, or did Anna know something that hastened her demise? Clara must tread carefully to unravel the truth--for the Gestapo is one step behind. Previously published in the U.K. as The Winter Garden Praise for Jane Thynne's first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets "A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine."--Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers "A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler's Berlin. Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives."--Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress "An
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2016]
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9780385682985
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
happycanuck
Nov 05, 2017

Gave it a good try ie I read half of it. Found it too slow moving wth little action. It never seemed to go anywhere.

I found the writing style trite but the plot was fascinating. The author's note suggests some parts of the story are true. Overall an adequate effort bringing the work and risk of WWII women spies to the fore.

m
maipenrai
Nov 13, 2016

The second book in the Clara Vine series. THE FIRST BOOK: Black Roses SEEMS TO BE UNAVAILABLE

l
loudem
Oct 23, 2016

Pretty incredible... But it's a novel, so we can excuse her blatant read on history. Maybe she thought that including Hitler, Goebbel and Himmler in her novel, people would be interested. Well, I surely wasn't. It get a passible note, for the effort, but otherwise I would say to skip this piece of crap.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top