All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
57
17
9
 …
Rate this:
"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."— Justine MagazineA New York Times bestsellerSoon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!A 2016 Zoella Book Club Pick! Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself— a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven."At the heart— a big one— of "All the Bright Places" lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." — New York Times Book Review "...this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters— or her audience."— Entertainment Weekly From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2015.
ISBN: 9780385755900
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kwsmith
Aug 27, 2017

A depressed and openly suicidal high school boy falls in love with a depressed and secretly suicidal high school girl. He's an awkward outcast and she's one of the pretty popular girls. What could possibly go wrong? This colorful romantic story is so well told that I'm sure Jennifer is, at least partially, writing from her own experience. If you enjoy John Greene's dolorous young adult romances, you'll like this one too!

GCPL_Teen Jun 23, 2017

The realistic handling of mental illness in this novel is admirable. Both main characters struggle to manage their emotions, relationships, and the stress of school. Vivid imagery and rich language.

_
_Alicorn_
Jun 20, 2017

I got really invested in Theodore. Love the way he was written and explained the way he thinks.
Spoiler alert - I was surprised he dosn't make it but in a way the unhappy ending made sense in ways and he left a mark on a world he didn't feel made for. Poetic I guess, not that suicide isn't sad.

AL_KELSEY Jun 06, 2017

While I didn't love this book for it's plot or writing style, there is definitely one aspect of this novel that resonates with me. The author does a phenomenal job of creating the character, Theodore Finch. The reader can connect with him, and can truly see the changes in his demeanor, his sanity, and his feelings about life. She doesn't name these feelings. She doesn't stereotype him. She lets the reader feel it as it happens, which makes for an incredibly powerful story about suicide, friendship, and first love.

b
ba_gray
Apr 27, 2017

This book is amazing. Very sad, but you can't help but be drawn in by it. I highly suggest this book because, well, it's now my favorite book.

a
Alirox02
Apr 26, 2017

I started reading this three times before reading it all the way through.

I wish I'd read the whole thing the first time. This is amazing.

fatimax Apr 18, 2017

I read this book a while ago and I guess I was a little disappointed. Although the book did bring to light a lot of important issues, to me it seemed like Violet and Theodore's relationship was toxic. Although I did cry my eyes out at the end I still couldn't find it in me to appreciate it as much as I thought I would've.

s
SashaE
Apr 15, 2017

Ahh my feelings. This started out dramatic, then got happy... THEN SOMEONE HAD TO MAKE IT SAD AGAIN. It was an awesome book, Theodore did creep me out a little at the begining though, but he got better as the book progressed. It's a really sad book, But it's a good read and I enjoyed it (Minus the crying)

kirstd31 Feb 13, 2017

I almost stopped reading this book. It was just so sad. I am glad I kept reading. I had to understand Theodore Finch.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 30, 2017

All The Bright Places is a beautifully written heart-wrenching book. In some ways it reminds me of The Fault In Our Stars, but even though I can see similarities between these two books All The Bright Places is still unique and stands on its own. Violet and Theodore, the two main characters, are both very likeable characters but for very different reasons. I love how in this book two very different people who seem to have nothing in common are able to come together. This book addresses very important issues that I’m sure many people can relate to. All The Bright Places can be a heavy read so I would not recommend it if you are looking for a lighthearted happy book, but if you are willing to give it a chance you’ll love it. 5 Stars
- @bookworm of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

p
Pipsqueak4310
Jan 22, 2017

"May your eye go to the Sun, To the wind your soul.... You are all the colors in one, at full brightness."

g
giraffes714
Aug 13, 2016

Sorry wastes time. You have to live your life like you'll never be sorry. It's easier just to do the right thing from the start so there's nothing to apologize for.

g
giraffes714
Aug 12, 2016

Sometimes there's beauty in the tough words - it's all in how you read them.

g
giraffes714
Aug 12, 2016

The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.

g
giraffes714
Aug 12, 2016

You are all the colours in one, at full brightness.

j
Julia_Kh
Jul 06, 2016

"It's so lovely to be lovely to the one I love"

JCLChrisK Dec 31, 2015

It's so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.

l
lilyanelizabeth
Aug 14, 2015

"For what it's worth, you showed me something, Ultraviolet- there is such a thing as a perfect day."
-Theodore Finch

l
lilyanelizabeth
Aug 14, 2015

"But winter is here, and I don't know where I'll be by spring. And she's named for a flower, and her father hates me, and I want her to know that I'm thinking of her and that this isn't a season of death but one for living."
-Theodore Finch

h
Heemy
Aug 10, 2015

the

View All Quotes

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

y
yellow_sparrow_24
Oct 02, 2017

yellow_sparrow_24 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

b
blue_owl_1134
Sep 24, 2017

blue_owl_1134 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 88 and 99

c
chosenhearts
Nov 15, 2016

chosenhearts thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

f
fallacyx2
Mar 01, 2016

fallacyx2 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

l
livieb17
Sep 26, 2015

livieb17 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

s
sportygeek
Aug 19, 2015

sportygeek thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

r
rabbitarabbit
Jun 22, 2015

rabbitarabbit thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

d
dblavitt
Jun 09, 2015

dblavitt thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

WVMLlibrarianShannon Apr 01, 2015

WVMLlibrarianShannon thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

t
TealSeals
Jun 23, 2015

This book is about a boy names Finch and a girl names Violet.

Notices

Add Notices

AletaLindsey Mar 16, 2015

Other: Could be triggering- suicidal thoughts

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top